Spring Reading Thing

Jessica here. There are a lot of things I have failed to post about over the past few months, but this is not the catch-up/update post. This is all about reading.
I am a pretty voracious reader. This began around age 5 and although I definitely go through periods where I don’t get much reading done, it’s still true today.  I’m not terribly picky in my choices of books, either. It’s pretty much whatever catches my eye/strikes my fancy at the moment. Children’s books, young adult fiction, mystery, suspense, “fluff,” humor, non-fiction… I’ve even taken a liking to quite a bit of sci fi.

 

I don’t usually have a “plan” when it comes to reading, but this Spring Reading Thing intrigued me. I’m not going to lie – the possibility of winning some Amazon gift cards played a large role in my decision (I need to fill up my Kindle!).

Without further ado, these are the books I have on hand and on hold at the library. My goal is to get through them, and to add more to this list before the end of spring.

West of Here by Jonathon Evison

This one may be a bit of a cheat; I am about halfway through it already. But I am determined to finish.  Going back and forth between 1890 and 2006 near the Olympic mountains in Washington State, I feel like I should really be into this book – the setting (so near where I grew up), the characters (white and native alike), the way it draws out the impact of the actions of the characters’ ancestors… it all seems like it would be a riveting read.  I am having a heck of a time getting through it, though.
The reason I picked up this book in the first place is that it’s on my new library’s book club for the month. I am looking forward to meeting the author next month and to get the chance to meet other folks in this town (being a recent transplant with no job, my friends are few and far between; what better way to connect with others?)
The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale

Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

I have a friend (honest, I do!). She’s a reader, too. She’s a Jane Austen fan – and a young adult fiction fanatic. She’s the one who introduced me to The Hunger Games, Stephen King’s The Eyes of The Dragon (if you haven’t read this – DO!)
Anyhow, she is often praising Shannon Hale and after more than two years, I plan on finally getting around to reading some of her books.

Wicked: Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West by Gregory Maguire

Looked like a good read to me – I’d love to some day make it to the play, too!

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

I vaguely remember seeing this book on a few of my friends’ lists of must-read books. I will admit that I have no clue what it’s even about. But I’m excited to read it for myself! :)

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

That friend I was telling you about? She also raves about this book. She recently even went so far a to buy it for me (yeah, my friends are awesome like that). It’s a honker of book – a bit daunting, if I’m being honest. But if all goes according to plan, I’ll be able to hold my own in our book discussions by the end of Spring! :)

Tally Ho!

9 responses to this post.

  1. I just checked out Princess Academy today from the library! Looking forward to reading it! I read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society a few years ago and really enjoyed it!

    Happy Spring! Have fun reading!! :)

    Reply

  2. ther Guernsey book is really good! Enjoy all your spring reads!

    Reply

  3. Posted by jill hoke on March 21, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    I loved the Guernsey book. Happy reading!

    Reply

  4. Several on here I’ve been meaning to read. Happy Reading. :)

    Reply

  5. Great choices! Guernsey was on my favorite list of 2009. Enjoyed the Hale books too.

    Reply

  6. I’ve read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. It is a good one! Happy reading this spring!

    Reply

  7. Great list! The Guernsey book is AMAZING – like one of the best books I read last year (for my book club). Hope you enjoy it!

    Reply

  8. I tried reading Wicked a few years ago, and I could not wrap my head around it. Happy Reading! :)

    Reply

  9. Wicked is a great book – I hope you enjoy it! Happy Reading!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

